Location of ETHIOPIA in East Africa

Our development efforts are concentrated at tackling absolute poverty in Ethiopia, in the Horn of Sub-Saharan Africa. Ethiopia with its ever increasing population of nearly 90 million people is the second-most populous country in Africa. Ethiopia, one of the world’s oldest civilizations, it is also the sixth poorest country in the world.

We feel that this is a region where we can effectively utilize our limited resources, local knowledge and professional skills. By focusing on the region where we have a better understanding of geographic and cultural diversity, we may have a bigger impact on the lives of the communities. To learn more about Ethiopia, please click Ethiopia Overview.

Southern Region


For political and administrative purposes, Ethiopia is partitioned into 9 regional States, and a few autonomous regions and cities. All our projects and programs are located within the Southern Nations Nationalities and Peoples Region (SNNPR); for the purpose of simplicity we refer as Southern Region.

Southern Region is one of the countries economically vital regions and rich in natural and human resources, and yet, still remains destitute and impoverished. Our efforts are concentrated particularly at supporting the rural communities to be self-sufficient. To learn more about the Southern Regions, please click Southern Region.

Kembata and Temabro zone


Kembata and Tembaro zone (KT zone) is one of the 14 administrative zones within the Southern Nations Nationality and Peoples Region (SNNPR) of Ethiopia. It is situated approximately 250 km south‐west of the capital Addis Ababa. The zone is bordered on the north‐west by Hadiya, on the south by Wolayita, on the south‐ west by Dawaro zone and on the east by Halaba zones.

The inhabitants of the zone are primarily ethnic Kembata and Temabro people. They occupy an area between the River Omo in the west and the River Bilate in the east, and settled in a small area. Overcrowding and scarcity of farmland is the main concern for the inhabitants, making the region one of the poverty stricken regions in the country. To learn more about KT zone, please read About KT Zone


Currently, the Kembata Temabro zone is divided into 7 weredas (smaller administrative districts).Based on the 2007 Census, the total population of Kembata and Tembaro zone is estimated about 768.3 thousand. The average population density of the zone is 504.3 inhabitants per square kilometer. The zone is marked by a very high population pressure.

Angacha Angacha 17 88,060
Damboya Damboya 17 81,771
Hadero Tunto Hadero 13 78,565
Doyogena Doyogena 14 98,212
Kacha Birra Shinshicho 21 115,549
Kedida-Gamela Durame 17 114,651
Tembaro Mudula 20 106,359

Please, consult other primary sources to confirm accuracy of the content, or use on your own risk.

The data contained herein is intended for informational and learning purposes only.